Jane Drew Prize – recognizing Women in Architecture


The Jane Drew Prize is an architectural award given annually by the Architects’ Journal and Women in Architecture to recognize a person who contributes to the status of women in architecture by showing innovation, diversity and inclusiveness.  It is named after the English modernist architect Jane Drew.


The prize was launched in January 1998, but took a few years to gain traction.  To date, there have been nine Jane Drew Prizes awarded:


The winner of the 2019 Jane Drew Prize is Liz Diller, architect and founder of the firm Diller Scofido + Renfro.  “From her wide range of work – including the High Line in New York, to The Brad art museum in Los Angeles, to the much-anticipated London Centre for Music—Diller’s brave, refreshing, innovative and often cross-disciplinary approach is an inspiration to the architectural profession.”

Additional Posts